Numerology Store    Download  Techniques    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:50 PM
sjp sjp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Default Disadvantage to running N3 as AU plugin in Ableton?

Hi guys me again

If im only using N3 as a sequncer to run VST's or hardware through Ableton and not to process or trigger audio in N3. Is there a disadvantage to running N3 as an AU in Ableton?

thanks and sorry for the questions im a N3 noob....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:23 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 3,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjp View Post
Hi guys me again

If im only using N3 as a sequncer to run VST's or hardware through Ableton and not to process or trigger audio in N3. Is there a disadvantage to running N3 as an AU in Ableton?

thanks and sorry for the questions im a N3 noob....
No worries... The answer is that even though MIDI routing with the AU is a bit simpler, the VST has better MIDI timing. This is due to Ableton supporting MIDI output from VSTs but not from AUs (so the AU has to do a round-trip through the OS X MIDI Server).

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2012, 04:56 AM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
No worries... The answer is that even though MIDI routing with the AU is a bit simpler, the VST has better MIDI timing. This is due to Ableton supporting MIDI output from VSTs but not from AUs (so the AU has to do a round-trip through the OS X MIDI Server).
I love to hear that! Didn't know actually, but I've been using the AU and found that the timing through the OS X IAC is delayed. Luckily it is delayed by a fixed amount so if there is just one note in a recorded MIDI track that you know should be on a downbeat you can always select all events and nudge them in place for perfect timing. But that only works if you record the (AU produced) MIDI first, not for a live performance rig.

With the new i7 MBPs I don't feel that I have to use Mainstage for CPU saving reasons so I'm looking forward to use Num VST in Live driving third-party instruments like Alchemy and Arturia's Moog Modular.
__________________
-
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.